RSS

Why I Stopped Writing

19 Sep

Hello there!

Well, it’s been an interesting past few months.  Not that you’d know if all you knew of me was what I wrote on this blog because I haven’t written anything lately.  Notes has remained on my mind throughout my self-imposed hiatus and I’ve always been wondering what to write next, but nothing ever really came through.  It’s not for a dearth of material, that’s for sure.  Certain gaming tribes continue to make a mess of things and abuse their sovereignty by disenrolling their members.  The Chukchansi tribe is currently in a train-wreck of a situation and a couple federal agencies have finally done something about it.  I think, however, I stopped writing for a reason, one that I think was always on my mind subconsciously, but now I think it’s time to hoist it to the forefront.

The reason I’ve stopped writing is because I have nothing else more to say. 

First of all, I’m not Rick Cuevas, proprietor of the Original Pechanga Blog, who can always find an angle on tribal disenrollment to write about.  The man is a machine and ceaselessly rings the warning bell about the injustice brought about by tribal corruption.

Second, and more importantly, if the purpose of this blog was to analyze the legal aspects of tribal disenrollment, then I’m pretty sure I’ve done that by now.  The law of tribal sovereignty can be very convoluted at times, but the law surrounding tribal disenrollment is pretty clear-cut, thanks to Santa Clara Pueblo and numerous decision in California state and federal courts.  If your tribe wants you gone, then there’s little stopping them from doing it.  Courts can’t do anything about it; Congress can, but they won’t, or at least not in the foreseeable future.  Of course, I would love to be proven wrong about this, but I’m just not liking what I see so far.

I think I’ve nailed down the broad strokes in my Legality articles, and if you’re interested for more nuanced posts, then there’s my First Time Here? section where you can get caught up to speed. 

Third, if we’re being frank, I’ve simply lost my passion for writing about this subject.  Indian law will always remain a passion for me, but it’s always been a dismal task writing about the sorrows of people who you know deserve justice and knowing that the law has foreclosed any meaningful access to justice.  Reading case law that further hammers home that point is equally dismal. 

Fourth, and finally, I want to write about other things.  There are other areas of Indian law out there and who knows, I’ve always been meaning to begin writing stuff about Yosemite.  That’s an entirely different mess and I haven’t really seen much coverage on it.  Or maybe just something else completely.  Who knows.

I’ve made some great friends through this blog and I hope people out there will still find it useful, but as for new content I think I’m going to take a very long vacation from it.  I wish you all the best, and as I said in one of my prior articles:

In particular, I would like to thank the disenrolled Native Americans who have stopped by to read and offer their two cents on the whole affair.  I would like to dedicate these articles to you and along with my thanks, wish you the best and hope that you one day get the justice that many of you, whether you are in California or any other state, deserve.  You will always be an Indian, no matter what any person says and no one can take that away from you.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Why I Stopped Writing

  1. Cathy L. Cory

    September 19, 2013 at 11:46 am

    Thank you, Erick! Your blog has been a wonderful forum, and I agree with you on the stone wall that has been met in the tribal disenrollment issue. Unless and until Congress acts to utilize their plenary power over tribes to halt these blatant tribal, civil, and human rights violations of Indian People by their own tribal governments we will continue to see more of the same from an ever-expanding sea of corrupt tribal governments. Currently, tribal sovereignty trumps everything and I see no signs of that changing without Congressional intervention. Good luck with everything in your very bright future. I will look forward to seeing your posts on the Yosemite issue, as that is an important one as well. I agree that there hasn’t been alot of information made available to the public, so hopefully that can change with some help from you blog.

    Good day and good medicine, Erick!

     
    • Cathy L. Cory

      December 1, 2013 at 11:01 pm

      As stated before…more of the same…Now 306 tribal citizens are attempting to be disenrolled by the Nooksack tribal government, and an additional thousand by Grand Ronde. And today’s news? Another 400–yes, folks, 400–reported to have received disenrollment factions at Picayune via the Ayala “faction”, some of the hand-carried. What has our beloved Indian Country become, and WHEN will Congress utilize their plenary power to halt these horrific injustices foisted upon our Indian People in ever-increasing numbers by corrupt tribal governments?

       
  2. Guero Nunez aka White Buffalo

    September 19, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Well we wish you well on your hiatus. I have read everything that you post and have seen and understood the work that you have done. Although I am disenrolled I am saddened by the loss, yet life goes on. Since 2004 my life has changed. Even though I have less income my life has changed for the better. I no longer take for granted things like income and education, for I have put my self through school and now received a degree in Social Work. I am hoping to continue next year in a graduate program. I hope you find your time well spent and that whatever it is you are doing it brings you contentment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers

